St. Louis Film Critics Awards Nominees For 2013 Announced

Posted by STLFilmCritics Dec 09, 2013 Posted in St. Louis Film Critics

Winners to be announced Monday, December 16, 2013.

The St. Louis Film Critics, the professional association of working film critics in the St. Louis-area, announced their nominees for the annual St. Louis Film Critics Awards on Monday, December 9, 2013. The yearly awards are given to recognize the best in cinema shown in the St. Louis-area for the year.

Winners of the St. Louis Film Critics’ Awards will be announced on Monday, December 16 by press release and on the association’s website, The award winners will be decided by SLFC members’ votes on Saturday, December 14. Nominees and winners are listed alphabetically.

The 2013 St. Louis Film Critics’ Award nominees are:


Best Film

12 Years a Slave
American Hustle


Best Director

Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)
Spike Jonze (Her)
Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
Alexander Payne (Nebraska)
David O. Russell (American Hustle)


Best Actor

Christian Bale (American Hustle)
Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station)
Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)


Best Actress

Amy Adams (American Hustle)
Cate Blanchette (Blue Jasmine)
Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
Judi Dench (Philomena)
Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)
Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)


Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
Harrison Ford (42)
Will Forte (Nebraska)
Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)


Best Supporting Actress

Scarlett Johannson (Her)
Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
Lupita Nyongo (12 Years a Slave)
Lea Seydoux (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
June Squibb (Nebraska)


Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle
Enough Said
Saving Mr. Banks


Best Adapted Screenplay

12 Years a Slave
Before Midnight
Captain Phillips
Short Term 12
The Spectacular Now


Best Cinematography

12 Years a Slave (Sean Bobbitt)
The Grandmaster (Philippe Le Sourd)
The Great Gatsby (Simon Duggan)
Gravity (Emmanuel Lubezki)
Inside Llewyn Davis (Bruno Delbonnel)
Nebraska (Phedon Papamichael)


Best Visual Special Effects

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
Pacific Rim
Star Trek Into Darkness
Thor: The Dark World


Best Musical Score

12 Years a Slave
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Saving Mr. Banks


Best Soundtrack

American Hustle
Despicable Me 2
The Great Gatsby
Inside Llewyn Davis
Muscle Shoals


Best Art Direction

12 Years A Slave
The Grandmaster
The Great Gatsby
Inside Llewyn Davis


Best Documentary

20 Feet from Stardom
The Act of Killing
Muscle Shoals
Stories We Tell


Best Non-English Language Film

Blue Is the Warmest Colour
A Hijacking
The Hunt


Best Comedy

Enough Said
The Heat
The Way Way Back
The World’s End


Best Animated Feature

The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Monsters University
The Wind Rises


Best Art-House or Festival Film

For artistic excellence in independent, international or smaller-budget films that played at film festivals, film series or had a limited-release run in St. Louis, playing one to three cinemas.

Ain’t Them Bodies Saints
Before Midnight
Blue Is the Warmest Colour
Frances Ha
In a World…
Short Term 12


Best Scene

- A favorite movie scene or sequence

12 Years a Slave - The hanging scene
Captain Phillips – The scene near the end of the film where Tom Hanks is being checked out by military medical personnel and he breaks down.
Gravity - he opening tracking shot.
Her – OS sex scene.
The Place Beyond the Pines - The opening scene where Ryan Gosling is walking through the carnival.

The mission of the non-profit St. Louis Film Critics Association is to promote appreciation of great cinema in St. Louis and St. Louis as an area that appreciates great cinema. The member film critics review for a variety of media, in print, on radio, television and Internet in the greater St. Louis Area. SLFC also presents awards at the St. Louis International Film Festival and St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase, both presented by the non-profit Cinema St. Louis.

For further information on the St. Louis Film Critics Awards, the SLFC Association or the association’s other film awards and activities throughout the year, please contact SLFC Director, Cate Marquis, at or 314.576.2912.