St. Louis Film Critics Awards Nominees For 2012 Announced

Posted by Kevin Brackett Dec 12, 2012 Posted in Featured

Winners to be announced Monday, December 17, 2012.

The St. Louis Film Critics, the professional association of working film critics in the St. Louis-area, announced their nominees for the annual St. Louis Film Critics Awards on Monday, December 10, 2012. The yearly awards are given to recognize the best in cinema shown in the St. Louis-area for the year.

Winners of the St. Louis Film Critics’ Awards will be announced on Monday, December 17 by press release and on the association’s website The award winners will be decided by SLFC members’ votes on Saturday, December 15. Both SLFC Awards nominees and winners will be posted on the association’s website Nominees and winners are listed alphabetically.

The 2012 St. Louis Film Critics’ Award nominees are:


Best Film


Django Unchained

Life of Pi


Moonrise Kingdom

Zero Dark Thirty


Best Director

Ben Affleck (Argo)

Wes Anderson (Moonrise Kingdom)

Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)

Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)

Ang Lee (Life of Pi)


Best Actor

Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)

Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Jamie Foxx (Django Unchained)

John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)

Denzel Washington (Flight)


Best Actress

Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Helen Mirren (Hitchcock)

Aubrey Plaza (Safety Not Guaranteed)

Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)


Best Supporting Actor

Alan Arkin (Argo)

John Goodman (Argo)

Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

William H. Macy (The Sessions)

Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)

Bruce Willis (Moonrise Kingdom)


Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams (The Master)

Ann Dowd (Compliance)

Sally Field (Lincoln)

Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Helen Hunt (The Sessions)

Emma Watson (Perks of Being A Wallflower)

Best Original Screenplay

The Cabin in the Woods (Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard)

Django Unchained (Quentin Tarantino)

Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola)

Seven Psychopaths (Martin McDonagh)

Zero Dark Thirty (Mark Boal )


Best Adapted Screenplay

Argo (Chris Terrio)

Beasts of the Southern Wild (Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin)

Life of Pi (David Magee)

Lincoln (Tony Kushner)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell)


Best Cinematography

Beasts of the Southern Wild (Ben Richardson)

Cloud Atlas (Frank Griebe and John Toll)

Django Unchained (Robert Richardson)

Life of Pi (Claudio Miranda)

The Master (Mihai Malaimare Jr.)

Skyfall (Roger Deakins)


Best Visual Effects

The Avengers

Cloud Atlas

Life of Pi


Snow White and the Huntsman


Best Music

Beasts of the Southern Wild

Cloud Atlas

The Dark Knight Rises

Django Unchained

Moonrise Kingdom

Not Fade Away


Best Foreign-Language Film

The Fairy


Holy Motors

The Intouchables

The Kid With A Bike


Best Documentary

Ai Wei Wei: Never Sorry


How To Survive A Plague

Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Searching for Sugar Man


Best Animated Film




Rise of the Guardians

Wreck-It Ralph


Best Comedy

The Cabin in the Woods

Moonrise Kingdom

Seven Psychopaths


Wreck-It Ralph


Best Art-House or Festival Film
(for artistic excellence in art-house cinema, limited to films that played at film festivals or film series or those that had a limited-release here, playing one or two cinemas).



The Fairy

Safety Not Guaranteed

Sleepwalk with Me

Take This Waltz


Best Scene
(favorite movie scene or sequence).

Beasts of the Southern Wild – The hurricane (and Wink shooting at it)

Django Unchained – The “bag head” bag/mask problems scene

Flight – The plane crash

Hitchcock – Anthony Hopkins in lobby conducting to music/audience’s reaction during “Psycho” shower scene

The Impossible – Opening tsunami scene

The Master – The first “processing” questioning scene between Philip Seymour Hoffman and Joaquin Phoenix


To be eligible for a SLFC Award, a film must have been shown in the greater St. Louis area in a theater or at a film festival or series, or made available to SLFC members by screening or screener during the past year. Films opening in limited run elsewhere for Oscar qualification but which will open in the St. Louis area early in the next year are eligible.

The mission of the St. Louis Film Critics association is to promote appreciation of great cinema in St. Louis and St. Louis as an area that appreciates great cinema. The member film critics review films for a variety of media: in print, on radio, television and Internet in the greater St. Louis Area. SLFC also presents awards at the St. Louis International Film Festival and St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase, both presented by Cinema St. Louis.